Committees and Caucuses for Austin Congressmen

Here’s some helpful info for targeting your Congressman by special interest.

A Congressional Committee is a sub-group within Congress that handles a specific duty. Congressional Committees can contain Members of Congress from multiple political parties.

A caucus is a group of people with shared concerns that usually align along party or racial/ethnic concerns but can also be “special interest”-based. (i.e. The Congressional Hispanic Caucus, The Congressional Motorcycle Caucus).

District 10 – Michael McCaul (R)

  • Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security
  • Committee on Foreign Affairs
  • Committee on Science and Technology
  • Co-Chair of the Congressional High Tech Chair
  • Co-Chair of the Childhood Cancer Caucus
  • Co-Chair of the Congressional Cyber Security Caucus
  • Co-Chair of the Congressional Caucus on Sudan and South Sudan
  • Tuberculosis Elimination Caucus

District 17 – Bill Flores (R)

  • House Energy and Commerce Committee
  • Energy and Power Subcommittee
  • Environment and the Economy Subcommittee
  • Oversight and Investigations Committee

District 21 – Lamar Smith (R)

  • Chairman, Committee on Science, Space, and Technology
  • House Committee on Judiciary
  • House Committee on Homeland Security

District 25 – Roger Williams (R)

  • The Committee on Financial Services
  • Vice Chairman of the Monetary Policy and Trade Subcommittee on Financial Services

District 31 – John Carter (R)

  • Commerce, Justice, Science Subcommittee
  • Defence Subcommittee
  • Chairman, Homeland Security Subcommittee
  • Co-Chair, House Army Caucus (bi-partisan)

District 35 – Lloyd Doggett (D)

  • House Ways and Means Committee (tax, trade, Social Security, Medicare)
  • Subcommittee on Human Resources (child care, family services, and unemployment compensation)

Join the Conversation


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *